About Us Factsheet on India

Official Name: Republic of India (Bharat Ganrajya)
Geographical Location:
•    Location of India: Southern Asia 
•    Latitude: 8.4° to 37.6° North 
•    Longitude: 68.7° to 97.25° East 
•    Neighboring Countries: Bhutan, Nepal, Sri Lanka, Pakistan, Bangladesh, Afghanistan, Myanmar and China 
•    Seas/Oceans: Arabian Sea to the West, Bay of Bengal to the East and Indian Ocean to the South. 
•    Islands: Lakshadweep Islands in Arabian Sea, Andaman and Nicobar Islands in Bay of Bengal
India shares borders with Pakistan and Afghanistan to the north-west, China, Nepal and Bhutan to the north, Myanmar and Bangladesh to the east. Sri Lanka is separated from the southernmost tip of India by the narrow Palk Straits and the Gulf of Mannar.
Area:  3,287,263 km2 (7th)
Population: 1,210,193,422 (2nd) (2011 census). Density: 374.3/km2 (31st)
Structure of the state: Union of 29 states and 7 Union territories.
Polity: Federal parliamentary constitutional republic
President: Shri Ram Nath Kovind
Vice President: Shri Venkaiah Naidu
Prime Minister: Narendra Damodardas Modi
Speaker of the House: Shri Om Birla
Chief Justice: Justice Ranjan Gogoi
Parliament of India:
Upper house (Rajya Sabha)
Lower house (Lok Sabha)
Major cities/towns:
Capital – New Delhi. Almost forty percent of India’s 1.210 billion people live in urban centers, the four largest being Delhi (16 million), Mumbai (20 million), Kolkata (15.2 million), and Chennai (7.4 million). Other cities like Pune, Hyderabad, Bangalore, etc are rapidly developing into major centers of commerce and industry.
India has a varied continental climate with spring from March-April, summer from May-October and winter from November-February. Tropical monsoon stretches from June-August and post-monsoon or North-East monsoon season from Oct-Dec. Most of the rainfall is brought by the South-West monsoon. Owing to the geographical diversity, regional climatic conditions in the extreme north, east and west can differ vastly.
Indian Standard Time: 
IST is equal to GMT + 5 hours and 30 minutes. Summer time not observed.
The official languages of the Republic of India are Standard Hindi (41% of the country speaks Standard Hindi or another Hindi dialect) and English.
In addition, 22 languages are recognized by the Constitution of India. Individual states, whose borders are mostly drawn on socio-linguistic lines, are free to decide their own language for internal administration and education.
Moreover, there are more than 1,500 dialects in India.
India is a secular country with no state religion. Major religions include Hinduism (82%), Islam (12-15%), Christianity (2.3%), Sikhism (1.9%), Buddhism (0.8%) and Jainism (0.4%). 
one Indian rupee (INR) = 0.014 US dollar approximately (INR 68.97/US$) 
Fiscal Year:
1st April to 31st March.
Independence from the United Kingdom:
Dominion: 15 August 1947 
Republic: 26 January 1950
GDP (PPP) 2015 estimate:
Total - $11.468 trillion ; Per capita in 2018  - $7,874 (119th) 
GDP (nominal) 2015 estimate:
Total - $2.972 trillion ; Per capita in 2018 - $2,036 (142nd)
Drives: on the left 
Internet TLD: .in
ISO 3166 code: IN
Calling code: +91